365 Days – Round 2 by Samantha Goode! Day 119 – Monday 20th July 2015.


A Gum Tree no More.

  Gum Tree no More  

At 8:29am this morning, this tree was big and beautiful. Australian wildlife like possums and birds like kookaburras and cockatoos called it their home. At 8:30am they started to cut it down. Now, 7 1/2 hours later it has almost gone. The arborists are cutting it away, piece by piece and it makes me sad.  It was a very big tree. 

I understand if this tree needs to be removed for safety purposes (I’m unsure of the reason why it’s being removed) but it still saddens me. I can’t help but wonder what this big,  grand, beautiful tree had witnessed over the years – that it had stood there, growing strong and tall, year after year and now us humans come along, cut it down and tomorrow it’ll be like it never existed. 

As I heard the chainsaw cutting through it all day – it felt awful to listen to. I know people will call me daft or stupid, that’s it’s only a tree, but just in the news last week, they were discussing the decline in native birds – in particular the kookaburra, due to their natural habitats being destroyed by us. 

As I was watching the arborist, I noticed I wasn’t the only one watching him – there was a beautiful kookaburra sitting in a neighbouring tree… watching (you can see him bottom left of the photo below). I thought it was rather poignant. 

 

Leave a Reply

