Day 203 Tuesday 18th October 2011


Seal of Approval

Today has to be one of the best days of our short trip. Today, we went whale watching and also to view some wild Australian Fur Seals on an island 9kms from the mainland of NSW, Australia.

We were on a relatively small boat, with just one other couple, plus the Skipper whose name was Wazza, who was very passionate about his job.

I have to say, in the last 4 years, we’ve been on around 6 to 8 humpback whale watching trips and have always only seen tail slapping and their ‘humps’. Today was very very different, I actually lost count of the amount of times we saw whales breach, right before us. I was in absolute awe and in my heaven. I seriously could not stop smiling. I have to say though, because I was so awe-struck, I didn’t take any photographs of them breaching, I was too busy enjoying them.

After following a whale and her calf for quite some time, we then made our way to this island that is home to Australian Fur Seals. They were so amazing. Many of them plopped off the rocks they were resting on, to come over to our boat, almost as though they were trying to say hello.

I will never forget today.

Leave a Reply

