Day 117 Sunday 24th July 2011

Bare-Nosed Wombat

Today, has been a very special day for me…

We(my partner and I) decided to go to the Hunter Valley, about a 2 hour drive from Sydney (well it’s meant to be, that’s if you don’t take a wrong turn!!).

It’s known for its vineyards and olive groves and beautiful countryside.

We stopped at several places, but the thing that really made me smile today, was after almost 4 years, I finally met my first wild wombat….they are nocturnal animals, so I felt very honoured see this one….

Please allow me to introduce you to my furry new friend; Mothball (I named it after a wombat in a book I gave my niece a couple of years ago – which was all about a wombat, who liked to eat carrots and people’s washing off their washing line – the wombat in the story was called Mothball).

Sadly, I have only ever seen wombats that have been killed by cars. Mothball, was at the edge of a road, eating, and eating and eating some more – grass, He/she seemed quite content and wasn’t bothered by me at all.

Mothball was about 2 and 1/2 feet long. I so wanted to give him/her a cuddle, of course, I didn’t.

For some reason, the wombat had a red mark on its back – it wasn’t blood, I’m not sure what it was, but it gave it a rather punk look when looking at him/her from behind.

I am so so happy that I finally met a real life wild wombat – today, is a day I won’t forget in a hurry.

Sadly, the Bare-nosed wombat is under
threat from habitat loss, urban development, the debilitating infestation Sarcoptic mange and eradication (some consider them pests)

The wombat is a marsupial that has a backward facing pouch, to avoid dirt entering when the wombat burrows. The baby wombat – a Joey, will stay in the pouch for 5 months, where it stays permanently attached to a teat. After 10 months, the joey leaves the pouch permanently, but stays with Mum until they are around 18 months old.

4 comments on “Day 117 Sunday 24th July 2011”

  1. So THAT’S what a Wombat looks like eh… I have to agree though that they really do look cute.. a bit like a real furry pot bellied pig… Mefinks I’d be smiling if I found one of these in the wild too… Real nice shot.. 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you…they really do look like a furry pot bellied pig. It really was rather cute and I was so pleased that I finally got to see one alive, rather than as roadkill, which is sadly so often the case here.

      Like

  2. That’s a very pretty wombat! Lovely photo. 🙂

    Like


Leave a Reply

