Day 89 Sunday 26th June 2011

Humpback Whale

I woke up super-duper early this morning, because I was so excited about going whale watching and I was petrified that I would sleep through my alarm, I feel like I only half slept.

So I got up and went for a walk along the beach, to watch the sunrise (my 5th time this week). It was really beautiful, especially because there was mist on the beach, where the water would hit the cold sand, so I was able to capture the light in the mist. Alas, that is not my photo of the day, you’ll just have to take my word for it, that it was a beauty of a sunrise. This is my photo of the day. I know it’s not the greatest whale photo ever taken, but this really summed up the experience.

It was the best day for whale watching, as the water was so calm (which is pretty rare for here) and there was hardly any wind.

All in all, I think we saw around 12 humpback whales over 3 hours. Here in Australia it is against the law to go closer than 100 metres to a whale, however, you can’t help it if a whale decides to come up to your boat, if that is the case, then you just have to cut the engines until they have gone on their way. This is what happened in this photo.

They are such incredible creatures and I am in absolute awe of them. I must admit, I have been known in the past, to stand outside supermarkets, petitioning against them because they sold fish from places that still hunt whales. I am very passionate about them, they have a very special place in my heart and it saddens me greatly when I see horrific footage of whales being harpooned.

Thankfully, I am happy to say that the humpback whale population is increasing every year – which can only be a good thing in my book.

Today, we saw lots of tail slapping, unfortunately no breaching, I hope one day, I will see that, I have only ever seen a whale breach from a distance – it was still an incredible sight to see.

Taken at Sydney Northern Beaches, NSW, Australia

6 comments on “Day 89 Sunday 26th June 2011”

  1. Great shot! I’m glad you got to see so many!

    Like

  2. This is sooo coooool! I love the shot. Is the water really that blue?

    Like

    • Thanks Rebecca. Yes, it really was that blue, the water was absolutely incredible. Actually, truth be told, I may have missed a whale, by photographing the water, it was so gorgeous. There were pockets of water, that were a different colour, almost like a saphire blue and even though the water was really deep, you could see the bottom in parts, it was incredible.

      Like

      • That is so cool. The water in Holland is – like at 95% of the places – a mix of green, brown and just dirt. Actually, I have never seen a sea or lake that blue here. Makes me want to leave this place and see some of the world, especially oceans and sea’s and lakes. I love water.

        Like

      • Thanks Rebecca 🙂 The water here changes so much, even on the day that I took this, I remember as the boat was coming in to the harbour, the water was a really really bright green. I don’t think I have ever lived anywhere before with such a variety of colours of water. I know a lot of it has to do with the light and the depth etc, but still, it’s nice to see. There’s water like that here too – the nice brown, dirt coloured stuff 🙂 I love water too, the majority of my photographs I’d say are related to water.

        Like


Leave a Reply

