Day 76 Monday 13th June 2011

By-the-wind Sailor aka Velella velella

The By-the-wind sailor is part of an ocean surface community, that includes the blue-bottle jellyfish. Unlike the blue-bottle, they are harmless to humans.

This is the first time I have ever seen one. It was so incredibly beautiful. Nature truly is amazing and I am in absolute awe.

They are about 7cms in length and they are a stunning deep blue colour. They have a small stiff sail that catches the wind which propels them over the surface of the sea. How incredible is that! I think I wouldn’t mind being one of these in my next life! They are at the mercy of the wind. A natural mini sailing boat.
Manly Beach, Sydney, NSW, Australia.

11 comments on “Day 76 Monday 13th June 2011”

  1. this is so cute 😀 I wanna see one too 😀

    Like

  2. Thank you Samantha for sharing this. I too love Nature and the seemingly oddness of it. Being in the United States, no longer near the ocean, I am glad to see your posts each morning when I awake. This may be the only exposure I have to this little sea creature. Great photo.

    Like

  3. This is pretty! And it’s the first fantastic-looking member of the jellyfish family that I hear is not poisonous. Maybe I’ll meet one someday; it must be really cool being able to sail on your own, go anywhere the wind takes you…

    Like

    • I hope one sails in your direction soon 🙂 I feel really honoured when things like this come in to my life. The beach today was covered with blue bottles, so I had to be really careful where I trod, as I didn’t want to get stung. At first, I thought this was a blue-bottle that had popped, but it looked so different. I never even knew these existed until today. I kept smiling for hours afterwards, this little creature made me feel so happy. Like you said, it must be really cool being able to sail on your own and go anywhere the wind takes you, that’s why I wouldn’t mind being one 🙂

      Like

  4. That is an awesome looking create. I would love to see one sailing across the sea. What an excellent colour too, so bold and beautiful.
    Astra Wally

    Like

  5. You find the most amazing things!! Wow, the colors have some out so nicely!!

    Like

    • Thanks Kim. I was walking with my partner along the beach and I instantly saw it amongst all the blue-bottles that had washed ashore. He was convinced that it was just another blue-bottle, that had popped. I kept saying he was wrong and that I was sure it was something else. I actually saw 3 in total on my walk. I couldn’t believe the colour of it. It was sooo beautiful and delicate looking. Kind of felt sad for it that it could no longer roam the oceans.

      Like

  6. Today, I went to the beach with my kids. I found a sea shell and gave it to my 4 year old daughter
    and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.” She put the shell to
    her ear and screamed. There was a hermit crab inside and it pinched
    her ear. She never wants to go back! LoL I know this is entirely off
    topic but I had to tell someone!

    Like


Leave a Reply

