Day 69 Monday 06th June 2011

Cleansing Water for the Soul

Everything happens for a reason….everything happens for a reason That’s my mantra for today.

I didn’t have a very good start to my week as I found out today that my work contracted hours are being reduced significantly. I won’t lie, I am sad about this. Every negative has a positive though…right? though I can’t really see it right now. At least once my leg is back to normal (it’s almost to that point – thankfully), I will gradually be able to get back in to a routine with work and day-to-day life.

I will have to find another job as well as the one I have but I’ve no idea what I will do. I mean, ideally, photography is what I would really like to concentrate on – it’s what I would like to make a career of, it’s what makes me feel alive and I really hope that one day, my dream will come true – I really do.

I have to be thankful that I still have a job, it could be far worse than it is, it’s just not what I was expecting today.

I will take it in my stride, after all, everything happens for a reason. Hopefully I can turn this around to make it in to a positive for me. I wish that I could just take photographs all day every day. That would be my dream.

I went for my walk today and the colour of the water was absolutely gorgeous. All the turmoil that I had inside me calmed and turned in to peace after walking along the coast. It has such an incredibly calming effect on me. I think that is why I am writing this so calmly. If I’d written this post this morning, it would have sounded very different.

13 comments on “Day 69 Monday 06th June 2011”

  1. Beautiful photo!

    I am sorry to hear about the hours at your job…we went through a similar scenario last year. Just know that as long as you’re the kind of person who can still spot the kind of beauty you photographed, you’re still the kind of person who can find her way back into the brightness… I know it’s cheesy, and cliche, but, we do make it though these times and come out on the brighter side.

    Here’s wishing you lots of light and energy to make the journey on the road ahead!

    Like

  2. I need a walk by the water, as our apartment flooded over the weekend (due to neighbour’s apartment flooding) and our floorboards are now completely ruined… I do hope that everything happens for a reason! Let’s see what will come out if it all. Good luck w/ working your way back into life as usual. But I am sure there is a reason for your reduced hours. Maybe more time for photography?
    xx

    Like

    • I’m so sorry about your apartment – that’s awful news. That’s such a shame about the floorboards. I hope there wasn’t too much damage, I’m so sorry.
      More time for photography would be excellent, I’m going to see what happens, hoppefully someting good is around the corner, just waiting for me 🙂

      Like

  3. I’m sorry to hear about the work but maybe this will open up the opportunity to start working as a photographer, the whole door shut window open situation. At least you can focus enough to still capture beauty. I would love to run straight into that sea, it looks so refreshing!
    Have have my fingers crossed but I have a feeling you won’t need it!?!?
    Astra Wally

    Like

    • Thanks so much Astra, I need all fingers and toes crossed – can’t do me any harm 🙂 I would so love to start working as a photographer, I’ll have to wait and see what the Universe has in store for me.

      Like

  4. There are times when all we can do is repeat “every negative has its positive” and believe the tide will turn eventually. Shakespeare wrote about the wheel of fortune, and how sometimes we’re on top and sometimes we’re in the bottom. I’m tempted to believe him. So, Sam, hold on there and have faith, things will improve sooner or later, I know because they did for me.
    Besides, you live in paradise! What a sky! And I’m really glad to read your leg is doing better :).

    Like

    • Thanks so much. I will hang in there. I could have lost my job all together, which I didn’t and for that I am grateful. Thank you for your encouraging words. I am touched.

      Like

  5. I feel for you Sam.
    It is definitely an unsettling time and lots of people are going through this sort of thing.
    Easy to for me to say and lots of wise words are spoken at this time. The thing is its personal now and emotion will have its way, even if it is for a short moment. The trick is to keep control of it, so that you don’t imagine things that aren’t true.
    I am glad that you have this outlet and share your thoughts. It’s great.
    From what I have read it is possible to earn some money from photography. Weddings and Portraits seem to be most lucrative. I have seen that you have a site for selling your stuff. How is that going? Maybe you can build on what you already have.
    Things will get better, soooooo…. 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you. You are absolutely right – I have to keep control because it would be very easy for me to imagine things that aren’t true. This morning, I feel a lot better. I can’t dwell on what has happened. I have sold a fair few things through my other site, but not enough – not yet anyway. I have a lot of thinking to do about what I want. I’d be lost without my blog now, it’s really become part of my day to day life now. Thank you again 🙂

      Like

  6. Oh, no. I’m sorry to hear about your work. My parents are going through similar situations – he’s been transferred to a new place, but got to work less and she’s constantly trying to get a new work but has always been turned down… the only thing I do is just to hope for them that it gets better. I believe that after a long time of something “dark” there will always be light, always. In your case, it’s sad that the phrase “nothing stays forever” has to be right, but on the other side, this means that this phase won’t stay forever as well! And maybe it’s a gleam of hope that you could become a photographer? That would be so cool, and I can see you definitely doing it. I love your photographs (such as this one, beautiful colours by the way) and I think you have a good chance at doing it!

    Cheers,
    Stella

    Like

    • Thanks Stella. I’m sorry to hear about your parents going through similar situations. I hope that it will get better for them really soon. I’ll send some positive thoughts their way 🙂 Thank you for helping me to see things more clearly and for saying such kind words, I really do appreciate them.

      Like

  7. So sorry to hear that Samantha, but I am happy to hear that you are so positive. That is good! I believe that things always work out for the best. And it will.

    Like


Leave a Reply

