Day 49 Tuesday 17th May 2011

Keys to my Soul

Today, I talked a lot to someone about my piano lessons that I used to have whilst I was growing up. It used to be a major part of my life, but I haven’t played my piano for a long time…from tomorrow that will change, it’s time she came back in to my life.

I’ve had this piano since I was 14, but I’ve played the piano from the age of 8 I think. I was pretty young. I used to play with my eyes closed or my hands behind my back and play that way (when I was little). I hated reading music. I can read, but I don’t enjoy the reading part, it takes the shine off the actual playing. I actually used to memorize all my music and I never told my teacher. But how I memorised the music – was from beginning to end, so if I messed up in the middle, I’d have to start all over, which used to drive my piano teacher crazy, as she thought I was reading the music, she’d always tell me to pick up from where I left off…but I couldn’t!

One day, the phone rang and she went to answer it and I started playing a piece of music that I hadn’t played for a few years. When she came back in to the room, she said that it sounded lovely and asked me where the sheet music was for it. I told her I didn’t bring it, that I just remembered it. It suddenly dawned her and I explained to her that all the pieces of music that I was taught to play, I played from memory, not from reading. It’s funny, to this day, I can still play those pieces of music, but the same thing happens…if I make a mistake during, I have to start from the beginning, that’s how it’s been programmed in to my memory!

6 comments on “Day 49 Tuesday 17th May 2011”

  1. Cool composition! If I had a piano, I’d be taking pictures of it every other day. Wish I could say I’d be playing it, but music is not my thing – not that I’m complaining, though, photography and writing are more than enough for me.

    Like

  2. I don’t think I’ve ever wanted to kiss a piano before, but this picture is just . . . sensual, almost. Gorgeous.

    Like

  3. wow! Fantastic composition 🙂 I envy you for having a piano and knowing to play. I haven’t touched my violin in almost a decade now.. really want to get back to it though.

    Like

  4. Great DOF on this image!! Love it!!

    Like


Leave a Reply

