Day 37 Thursday 05th May 2011

Perfect Morning at Cabbage Tree Bay, Manly, Sydney, NSW, Australia

This morning, I went for an early morning bike ride along my local coastal path. This photo is of Cabbage Tree Bay Reserve, Manly, Sydney, Australia. The ‘antlers (!)’ are actually a sculpture of 2 swimmers stretching. I love it here. Just around the corner is a beautiful beach called Shelly Beach, which was my destination. My reward for going on my bike was going for a swim in the pristine water. The water was so incredibly clear, I could see fish swimming.

I quite often come here snorkelling, though it’s been quite some time since I last did that. I will have to try to do that in the not too distant future, as winter is almost upon us and I am very familiar with the fact that water here in this particular area in winter gets very cold (due to it being rather deep). I’ve snorkelled here in the winter and it’s given me brain freeze so much so, it felt like I was sticking my head in a bowl of ice-cream (not sure which flavour!!).

When I went for my swim this morning, I was the only person there. It was perfect. I was planning on taking photographs of Shelly Beach and I did, but I really liked this photo.

Whilst I was swimming, I had a great idea for a photo for this project. I tried to take it today, it didn’t happen….I will keep trying and when I succeed, it will be one of my entries for this project. I am not going to tell you what it is until it happens!….for now, it’s a secret 😉

9 comments on “Day 37 Thursday 05th May 2011”

  1. My first impression was – “What are antlers doing out there?! I like the Black and White that you’ve been doing.

    Like

  2. Great shot Samantha! I too thought it was antlers…lol

    Like

  3. Those are fancy antlers :-)) Lovely shot!

    Like

  4. Just an after thought, doesn’t the tide ever cover it??

    Like

  5. I thought they were antlers until I read the explanation. Lovely reflection of the sun on the water. I look forward to seeing what your secret shot will be!

    Like

  6. Beautiful composition and b&w tones.

    Like


Leave a Reply

