Skip to content

Archive for July 13th, 2011

Day 106 Wednesday 13th July 2011

Splashtastic

The ocean is wild here at the moment, it’s almost a full moon and the tide is high. As I was taking this photograph, I got absolutely soaked from the wave splashing against the rock I was cowering by. Good job that I was using my waterproof camera!

Last night, I was taking more photographs, just as the sun had gone down and I was standing on some steps because the tide had come in so much, there was nowhere else to stand. In the end, I had to make a mad run for it. Once I’d got to a safe area, there was an elderly gentleman who beckoned me over to him. I didn’t know him, however, I ended up standing with him for over an hour…..we were both dodging the tide as it crept up over the sand and we watched the moonlight dancing on the waves.

He was in awe of the water as much as me – if not more. We watched as the waves grew bigger and bigger and both cheered as we saw waves out the back preparing to crash on to the beach. It was magnificent. He drew maps in the sand of where he’d seen big waves the day before. He hopped from one foot to the other, because he was unable to stand still, due to pain in his legs.

With him, he had a tiny suitcase. I’ve no idea where he came from. I enjoyed the company of this dear elderly man. He told me that today – the tide would be even higher and we arranged to meet up again to watch the waves. Unfortunately, I didn’t get to see him. I hope that one day, our paths will meet again and we can watch the moonlight dancing on the waves and laugh and cheer as the waves crash all around us.

So even though, I didn’t get to see him today, Richard – this one is for you.

