Skip to content

Day 81 Saturday 18th June 2011

He’s a Shark…I’m a Shark

I went for my first proper swim today in ages and it was heavenly. I actually went snorkelling and it was nice to escape in to another world for a little while. Although it was cold and windy outside, inside the water it felt warmer.

As I was busy snorkelling, I was watching/photographing the fish then suddenly this guy (pictured) swam right in to me. At the time, I was actually looking below, as was he. (As he went into me, I somehow pressed the button on my camera and this was the result) We both screamed….as we each thought that the other was a shark. It was rather funny and we both laughed about it and then went on our way. I had every intention of taking a fish photo for today, but this, I thought was rather different and had a funny story behind it.

Shelly Beach, Manly, Sydney, NSW, Australia

Posted by smileonlife on June 18, 2011
7 Comments Post a comment
  1. 06/18/2011

    So let me get this right, you get you leg fixed and out of the cast and the first thing you do is terrorise the seven seas pretending to a shark…awesome! I really like the frantic energy of this. I have never tried any underwater shots before. How was it taken!
    Astra Wally

    Reply
    • 06/18/2011

      Haha. The thing is, there are often sharks here, where I was snorkelling. I’ve only ever seen a Port Jackson shark here, but there are Grey Nurse Sharks. So sharks were on my mind. I did an ocean swim race 2kms last year, from this beach, which went out in to deep water. There was a disclosure that I had to sign, saying that the organisers couldn’t be held responsible if I was going to be attacked by a shark. I’ve seen a blue shark, which was so beautiful, swimming in a wave, very close to shore, which is really unusual as they are a deep water shark. Sorry, going on about sharks.

      I tell you Astra, I felt so alive being in the water. I really did feel like I was in another world, a world which I have missed. I wish I was a mermaid, no, actually, I’d rather be a humpback whale or a sea otter, ummm or possibly a dolphin – that surfs the waves.

      I took this with my Canon underwater camera. This photo was taken purely by accident though.

      I feel like I have washed away my worries :-)

      Reply
      • 06/18/2011

        Well water is supposed to be cleansing and I am glad it has worked for you. I like sharks, I think they are very interesting creations. YOU HAD TO SIGN A DISCLOSURE IN CASE OF SHARK ATTACK!!!! That is just mental and very brave of you. For some reason I pictured you as the Sea Otter, dunno why it just seems to suit you better than the others
        Astra Wally

  2. 06/19/2011

    Great story! Great shot!

    Reply
    • 06/20/2011

      Thank you very much John. This one was a bit different for me. I need to try and take more underwater shots.

      Reply
  3. 06/19/2011
    Kimba

    Great shot, Did you use an underwater camera? or do you have those special protection things?

    Reply
    • 06/20/2011

      Thanks Kim. I used my underwater camera. I am still learning with it, it’s harder than you think, photographing under water.

      Reply

Leave a comment

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Comments Feed

