Skip to content

Archive for April 4th, 2011

Day 6 Monday 04th April 2011

I spent 30 minutes of my day collecting rubbish from my local beach and this is what I collected. By the way – Queenscliff Beach is really pretty clean, the majority of this stuff has come in on the high tides that we had last week. 50 plastic bottle tops, 28 plastic straws, cigarette lighters, 2 condom packets, 1 flip-flop, the back of a wing mirror to a car…..countless sweet wrappers and the list goes on and on and on….. PLEASE DON’T DROP LITTER…..Ultimately, it ends up in our oceans. Turtles eat anything that floats – that includes plastic bottle tops. Birds eat pretty much anything. I am so upset with what I found. Imagine the difference if everyone did this! Well, there is a worldwide project called the TwoHands Project. You should look it up on facebook. Get involved like I have. :-)

I had to bring the rubbish home, because it was so windy outside and I needed to document my findings. Isn’t it sad!!!!!

If you would like to do this yourself join a project like http://www.twohandsproject.org

